Skip to content

What’s to Eat This Week

July 26, 2010

It rained all day Saturday so I was too lazy to go out to the market. I passed by on Sunday, but no one was out so I had to make due with the grocery store. It’s way more expensive than the market and the selection isn’t as good. Plus I didn’t get my cheap fig fix (they are $1.50 a pound at the market right now!).

I’m still on the crockpot bend since I’m in the last 2 weeks of summer semester and I have no time to think let alone cook a meal.

We bought some skinless chicken breast which went into the crock with piri-piri spice, red bell pepper, roma tomatoes and butterbeans. I usually use recipes for the crock but my husband actually threw this together and it was delicious.

I have some shrimpies in the freezer that need to be used up, so I think I’ll combine them in a quick stir-fry of purple cabbage, red and orange peppers, onion, green peas and apple (it’s great in stir-fry).

I’ve been trying to use more legumes since I’m learning of their benefits in my Nutrition class this semester. This week, we will have Indian Spiced Lentils with Chicken. I throw some zucchini and other veg in my version. If you use a slow-cooker, Crockpot365 is an invaluable resource. I use her recipes pretty much every week. She also tells you what went wrong with her attempts so that you don’t make the same mistakes.

I’m going to end the week with a veggie soup. The beautiful thing about vegetable soup is that you can use up the leftover veg before it goes bad and you can’t make a bad one if you remember the key ingredient… thyme. Liberal doses of thyme will guarantee a yummy result. Feel free to toss in other spices, fresh or dried. There is no vegetable that I won’t put in my soups. It’s different every time but always delicious (I told you, it’s the thyme!).

dragonfruit close-up

For fruit this week, I got a pair of dragon fruit at the grocery, along with a cantaloupe, quarter watermelon (we OD’d a little when I bought a gigantic whole one a few weeks ago), bananas, apples and jicama. If you’ve never tried jicama, it’s a starchy citrus fruit that’s sort of like asian apple-pears. Check out a latin grocery if you can’t find them at your chain or market.

It’s summer so there’s a wide variety of fruit available and now is the time to try something new. Exotic fruits can help you get your 2-4 servings a day without having another boring apple or orange. Yes, they can be pricey but I think a $3 fruit is money better spent than a $1 hamburger any day.

Tip of the Week: Invest in Your Heath!


Photo: psyberartist
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

