Skip to content

Chocolate of the Gods Mousse with Raspberries and Mint

July 29, 2010

I found this recipe at House Beautiful magazine of all places. I’m not sure how I got a subscription (each installment has me running to my husband screaming “can you believe people pay $400 for doorknobs?!?!) but I might keep it if they are going to include goodies like this.

I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand, so I’ll give you the original and what I used. It’s based on avocado, so keep in mind that it’s not low-calorie although you are getting some heart-healthy unsaturated fat. It’s also very rich so you don’t need more than a few spoonfuls to satisfy a chocolate craving (seriously).

Chocolate of the Gods Mousse with Raspberries and Mint

2 C Hass Avocados (about 2)
1/2 C plus 2 T maple syrup
2-4 T Evaporated Cane Juice
1-2 t vanilla extract
1 t balsamic vinegar
1/2 t soy sauce
1 C pure cocoa powder
1 pint raspberries
Handful of fresh mint

The original has some additional instructions on which fancy cocoa and aged vinegar to buy, but I think this is plenty pretentious as it is.

I used 1/2 cup Hershey’s cocoa and 1/3 cup reduced calorie sugar in place of maple syrup. I then added about 1/2 cup milk to put the liquid back in. It seems to me that a cup of cocoa would be a ton, but I might try that just to see.

Anyway, it’s luxuriously rich and creamy. And all-natural. Yum!

I’m sorry that I forgot to take a photo but I was too busy eating. House Beautiful included a photo with the recipe which I would have added to the post…if the photo wasn’t of a $3,000 faucet.

What are your favorite fruit or veggie based desserts? What’s your healthy alternative for when a chocolate craving hits? How much did you pay for your doorknobs?

Photo: llsimon53
One Comment leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 1:25 am

    I would have never believed you could do this with avocado! I’m definitely going to try this one! I might try to replace the soy sauce (another surprise) with Dr Bronner’s Liquid Aminos. I have to admit, we generally give into our chocolate cravings (only on weekends generally) but try to use organic dark. Can’t wait to give this a try! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

