Skip to content

Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Banana Bread

August 12, 2010

Today I had the eternal problem of finding something to make with overripe bananas. I’m pretty that sure browning bananas are the inspiration for 90% of banana breads that are made in the world.

I’m usually reluctant to post my “recipes” online because I often throw things together without paying attention. I start off with a recipe found online or in a cookbook, then substitute for healthier ingredients… or whatever is in the fridge and needs to get eaten.

Banana bread typically isn’t a model of nutrition. Sure it’s got fruit in there, but also a ton of sugar and oil.

As usual, I started with an online recipe [don’t be tempted to use that just because there are chocolate chips in it!] then made some tweaks:

Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Banana Bread

1 3/4 c whole wheat flour
4 very ripe bananas, mashed
1 just ripe banana, diced (so there are little banana chucks in there)
1 1/2 apples, peeled and diced (because that’s what I had on hand)
1/3 c light plain or vanilla yogurt
3 whole eggs
1/4 c reduced calorie sugar (or Splenda or whatever you like)
1 t vanilla extract
1/2 t salt
1 t cinnamon
1 t baking powder

Preheat oven to 325.

Get three bowls. In first, combine dry ingredients. In a second bowl, beat eggs. In a third bowl, mash banana, add diced banana, diced apple, vanilla and yogurt.

Add banana mixture to dry ingredients. Gently fold in eggs.

Bake in greased (with olive oil!) 9×5 pan for about an hour.

VERDICT:

The bread came out super moist, with little bits of soft apple and banana throughout. The whole wheat flour did not make the bread heavy and the flavor is lightly sweet. I even wrote the “recipe” down so I can make it again!

Nutritional info (if you use no calorie sweetener). This is for the whole loaf. It should make around 16 servings, so about 100 calories a piece.

Calories

Fat

Cholesterol

Sodium

Carbs

Sugar

Fiber

Protein

1,675

12g

645mg

225mg

344g

110g

44g

53g

photo: heliotrop3

How do you substitute ingredients to make recipes healthier? What’s your favorite healthy banana bread recipe?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2010 9:04 pm

    I use fruit purees in place of eggs and oil. I’ve brought eggs back in because I want the protein, but dumping a half cup of oil into something grosses me out. I find that in many recipes I can use equal amounts of applesauce in place of oil (and 1/4 cup per egg) and it comes out great. You can increase the amount of banana to decrease oil/egg as well. I would *not* recommend this with cakes, because they’re more delicate, but with quick breads it never fails.

Trackbacks

  1. Healthy Decadence: Still a Treat « Eatwalklive's Blog

Leave a Reply

