Skip to content

What’s to Eat This Week

August 23, 2010
Assorted Peaches 2816px

Image via Wikipedia

I’m still hooked on my crockpot and figuring out what I can do with it.

This week I’m making Split Pea Soup with potato, carrot and curry powder. I really wanted to crockpot bake some bread to go with it but realized I don’t have a loaf pan that will fit in there. Looks like its time to buy a bigger crock pot!

I would like to try a pasta dish in the crock, but the last time I tried, it turned out terribly. I made this ziti recipe and the pasta ended up overcooked the first day and even worse as leftovers. So, I’m going to stick with slow-cooking a yummy sauce with fresh tomatoes, oregano, basil, rosemary, bell peppers and zucchini.

I’m also making this jambalaya with turkey sausage, shrimp and tons of veggies.

At the market this week, there were tons of stone fruits available. I bought peaches, tiny plums and green plums (I don’t know the names of the varieties, I just get what looks good). The green ones are insanely delicious.

I also picked up some watermelon to have in a salad with tomato and balsamic vinegar, plus figs (my favorite), strawberries, and pomegranates.

The last things I picked up were the avocado, tomato, cucumber, orange bell peppers and spinach for my afternoon salads. I usually have  a sandwich or leftovers at around noon, then a big salad at 3pm so I can actually make it until dinner. I often throw a fruit in the salad – apple and peach are my favs – plus a healthy fat like avocado or green olives.

What are you eating this week?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 1:05 pm

    I am eating all the stuff left over from our vacation trip. Plus the beans, cabbage, tomatoes, corn and other good stuff from our garden. Oh, yes, one other thing I’ll be eating this week – birthday cake! Yay for me. And that twin of mine, copier.

  2. August 23, 2010 1:12 pm

    Lol! Happy birthday week, Alexandra! I am so jealous of your garden. Growing my own freggies is one of my goals for this year, but my course load has really gotten in the way. I am going to plant some fall veggies at least and I’m really looking forward to it. There’s nothing like home-grown!

  3. August 25, 2010 11:25 am

    We love split pea soup here! It is one of our favorites. I actually just made it (ate it) for the first time about a month ago and completely fell in love with it! Enjoy yours!

  4. August 25, 2010 12:10 pm

    Welcome, Sarena! Your site is so adorable! The recipes look great, even though I’m not dairy-free…but my sister and 3 of my cousins are and they will love this!

    I really wish I hadn’t seen the picture of the BLT, though. Now I’m dying for one!

Leave a Reply

