Skip to content

Nutrition and Health Research News

August 27, 2010
Full grain rice and black rice from Japan

Time to trade brown rice for its darker cousin? (image: Wikipedia)

A few tidbits I’ve been following this week:

  • Broccoli could fight Crohn’s disease: The British Medical Journal concluded that vegetable fiber helps to prevent traction by bacteria in the intestine, which helps slow the disease’s progress.
  • Eat grapefruit to fight off diabetes: A joint study by scientists in Jerusalem and Boston found that a citrus antioxidant called naringenin may help the liver to burn fat instead of storing it, while increasing the production of insulin.
  • Black rice considered top superfood: Black rice has been found to contain more of the antioxidant anthocyanin than blueberries, in addition to greater levels of fiber and vitamin E antioxidants, with less sugar.
  • Speaking of superfoods… The lowly potato has been shown to increase in antioxidants by up to 50% through either electric shock or ultrasound treatments.
  • Berries may reduce the mental effects of aging: The American Chemical Society presented evidence that just a handful of berries per day can reduce cognitive effects of aging.
  • Curry leaves may help treat diabetes: Scientists have found that curry leaves may help reduce the high blood sugar levels associated with reduced insulin production.
  • Daily glass of wine may double womens’ cancer risk: Seven units of wine per week, which is currently half of the recommended safe level, may increase breast cancer risk in middle aged women.

As always, these studies are a bit of evidence that eventually leads to the pile of proof. This is information that researchers use to (eventually) make recommendations and develop treatments.

It doesn’t mean you should start zapping your taters before you fry them (you’re not frying them are you? I was kidding!). Your best bet for health is still a balanced, varied diet of whole foods.

Yours truly,
Broken Record

Anyone else read any good/scary/interesting developments this week?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 12:08 pm

    So, should I be shocking my potatoes or should they be shocking me? And can I hold up some blueberries to ward them off? Guess what? My bro-in-law has Crohn’s. I’ll ask if he likes broccoli.

    • August 27, 2010 12:17 pm

      You certainly shouldn’t be shocked by your potatoes; they’re very conservative vegetables.

  2. August 27, 2010 12:15 pm

    okay! I’ll be bringing my potatoes to work, to run through the ultrasound machine…! 🙂

    seriously, though, this is FANTASTIC information – I learned some new things! this is a great post, thank you!!

  3. August 27, 2010 1:37 pm

    Other foods that aid in memory, cognitive ability, recall, and attention span are sesame seeds, almonds, hey there’s a SQUIRREL running up the tree! Where was I? Oh, and salmon, and some others I forget because I did not eat enough bluberries. Thanks for the tidbits!

  4. August 28, 2010 9:23 am

    Great info! Good think I’ve been obsessed with berries this summer 🙂

  5. August 30, 2010 12:40 pm

    I like the research tidbits. Any excuse to eat curry and I’m in. I think the research on spices (curry, turmeric, cinnamon) that has come out recently is interesting and easy to apply.

    • August 30, 2010 12:45 pm

      I’ve been interested in the nutritional benefits of spices as well, but I read (I think it was even on your blog) that the effects of spices are cumulative, so you need to use a spice frequently. I use a lot of spices but I really mix it up and don’t use the same ones on most days. I’m not sure if that’s beneficial (besides tasting good of course) or if this only helps people who eat oatmeal with cinnamon or make spice tea everyday.

Trackbacks

  1. World Wide News Flash
  2. Nutrition and Health Research News « Eatwalklive's Blog

Leave a Reply

