Skip to content

HOW TO: Get Your Eating Under Control After the Holidays

January 10, 2011
A meal at the court of Emperor Ferdinand I, 1558.

Image via Wikipedia

As you may have guessed by my constant references, LifeHacker is my favorite website. Catching up on my reader feed today, I came across a post about how to adjust back to normal meals after indulging during the holidays.

This is SO me right now.

I know there’s little sympathy for those who lose control at family meals. I admit that I brought this on myself. But how can I help it?

I’m Italian. Not eating a linebacker’s dinner involves offending at least 50 people. Is maintaining my diet worth 3 days of constant interrogation, side-pinching and the pained expressions of concerned relatives? Not really.

Even if you try to miss the actual meal, eating is a mandatory. It goes a little something like this:

Grandmother: Are you hungry?

Me: No, I ate right before I got here.

Grandmother: Great, I’ll fix you a plate.

There’s no convincing my family that food isn’t love so I’ve just given up. When I get home, I go right back to my normal routine, with a few extra snacks thrown in to make the transition. Mostly this means a yogurt between breakfast and lunch #1, then maybe some nuts and an apple between lunch #2 and dinner. (I always have a small lunch #1 at 11am then a salad at 3 which I call lunch #2. Without this, I can’t manage to wait for my husband to get home before digging into dinner)

I’ve also found that getting back to my exercise routine really makes me want to eat healthy and kills my interest in overeating.

LifeHacker also suggested slowing down while eating, not eating while distracted, having a glass or two of water before each meal and having mini meals. All of these are intended to increase feelings of fullness while you transition back to normal eating after the holiday foodfest.

How do you get back on track after the Thanksgiving or Xmas feast? Does your family give you a hard time about trying to eat healthy during the holidays?

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 4:06 pm

    Honest AND helpful. Great job. Thanks for sharing this info. Now I think I’ll go have some water.

Leave a Reply

