Skip to content

To Breakfast or Not to Breakfast?

January 20, 2011
american breakfast

Image via Wikipedia

I was kind of disappointed in the new study that came out saying a “big breakfast” doesn’t reduce total calorie consumption for the day.

It was only 400 people and 3/4 of them were obese. It’s fairly possible that obese people have different eating habits. Also their “big” breakfast was really big…400 calories over average.

Anyway, I’ve personally been influenced by other people’s advice about when and how much to eat.

A lot of fit people swear by mini meals – eating 5-6 smaller meals throughout the day.

Of course, the conventional wisdom is to eat breakfast, a habit borne out by the majority of people on the National Weight Control Registry.

Then there’s the smaller meals throughout the day plan plus the never eat before bed rule.

I’ve tried a lot of eating schedules and ultimately figured out what works for me.

And I guess that’s what most of the advice is missing – the caveat that it doesn’t work for everyone.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 3:56 pm

    I always eat breakfast, although sometimes it’s not until 10:30 or 11:00 if I’m working at my desk. But if I’m teaching, I need breakfast or I’ll feel unwell and lethargic. Also, whenever I have a student who seems a bit faint, sure enough, that student came to class with no breakfast. So I would say that breakfast is neccesary for quite a large segment of the population.

Leave a Reply

